A wee winter warmer

by

Here’s a recipe for a tasty treat on those cold winter evenings when you have friends and folk around – I made a couple of bottles of it for our Yuletide feast, an it went down very nicely!

Ravenwolfe’s Mulled Wine

  • 1x bottle red wine: I got a cheap bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon. I’m no wine drinker, so I’m completely in the dark about what would be best. If you look around the www for resipes, there are a number of opinions – sweet wines, fruity wines, dry wines….. like I said, I have no idea about wine – so I bought something cheap. Once you get all the ingredients into it, it tastes fine….
  • 1x vanilla bean
  • 1x cinnamon stick: roughly bashed
  • 1x whole nutmeg: roughly bashed
  • zest from one orange
  • 1x cup brandy
  • 200g caster sugar
  • 4x cloves

I roughly bashed the spices together. Then I dissolved the sugar in the brandy on the lowest heat setting on my stove. Then I added the spices and vanilla bean. Once this had warmed, I added the bottle of wine, and kept this going until it was warm. Because I did this the day before, I retained all the spices in the wine, and then re-warmed it on the night of the feast.

It is really really important not to bring any of this to the boil, as the alcohol will evaporate – unless of course that’s what you want. Keeping the heat on lowest level assures this. If you start to see steam, take it off the heat immediately.

This will obviously not fit back into the wine bottle, so find something that will take a litre of liquid.

Like I said, I don’t like wine – but this was very tasty! It was nice and warming too!

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

