Spring Time

by

It’s that time of year, you start looking at the garden, tidying up and getting your seedlings ready for the season coming.

Yesterday I planted spinach, broccoli seedlings and transplanted some bok choy that had started flowering around Joy’s Peach Tree to attracted good bugs.

Last week I did a quick light mulch of sugar cane, I love standing back after mulching as the garden look tucked in, if you know what I mean.

Today I went for a drive and I wanted to share with you some of the places I visited.

First stop was BAAG, Bulleen Art and Garden, this garden centre always inspires me, they have a huge collection of food plants, wonderful inside and outside products and a great selection of books. They have multible working displays of food gardens, including bush foods and their chook set up is a must see for anyone thinking of keeping chooks or wants ideas to make their chook pens a more interesting place.

I couldn’t help myself, I picked out a punnet of rhubarb, chamomile and a sad and sorry Indian Guava from the specials table.

Next stop was the nursery across the road from BAAG, very conventional and apart from the pretty interior decorating displays I didn’t feel the need to get my purse or my camera out, still it was nice to walk around and they had a coffee stand out the front so I had a latte to warm my hands and get the energy levels up for the next part of my journey for the day.

On to Ceres, my camera didn’t stop clicking. My first encounter of Ceres was back in the early 90’s, my daughter and I helped to plant out trees on the neglected creek bank …… I visited Ceres many time in the 90’s, my little taste of what could be, something I could aspire too, one day when I could get a little place of my own.

My focus today was in looking at the nursery (a must see), checking out the worm farm setup WOW and looking at their chook set up.

Ceres market garden

Ceres market garden

A nursery food garden, note the upturned punnet trays to protect plants.

A nursery food garden, note the upturned punnet trays to protect plants.

worm farm bath tubs off in the distance

worm farm bath tubs off in the distance

Bath Worm Farms, all draining into a bath for storage.

Bath Worm Farms, all draining into a bath for storage.

all baths are plumbed to a main pipe that drains into a bath for storage

all baths are plumbed to a main pipe that drains into a bath for storage

I love this archway, concrete reinforcement mesh bent onto star pickets.

I love this archway, concrete reinforcement mesh bent onto star pickets.

and here is a few photo’s of the chooks at Ceres.

chooks at Ceres

chooks at Ceres

Auto watering system for the chooks

Auto watering system for the chooks

From Ceres I went hunting for some gluten free food, so I headed to Fitzroy, on the way I spotted a garden on a nature strip, did a U turn and found a perfect example of community and food production …….. LOVED IT!

A great use of a nature strip

A great use of a nature strip

every street needs one

every street needs one

An Oasis on a street corner

An Oasis on a street corner

To all those who say "I would love to grow food but my soils no good" ...... no more excuses, there is no difference between the closest nature strip to the camera and the food garden, except love and attention, oh and a bit of mulch and compost!

To all those who say "I would love to grow food but my soils no good" ...... no more excuses, there is no difference between the closest nature strip to the camera and the food garden, except love and attention, oh and a bit of mulch and compost!

Please take the time to visit Cultivating Community and start a community garden in your street …… I spoke with Pete and we have decided to turn our nature strip into a community help your self food garden, stay turned for updates.

Leave a Reply

